“A tsohar shalt thou make to the ark, and in a cubit shalt thou finish it above; and the door of the ark shalt thou set in the side thereof; with lower, second, and third stories shalt thou make it.” –Genesis 6:16

Tsohar (pronounced tso’-har) is a Hebrew term meaning light, noon, or window. Some Rabbis believe that in Genesis 6:16 it describes a type of precious stone that emitted light in Noah’s ark. Therefore, it seems fitting that the Lord has inspired us to name this collection of scriptures “Tsohar.” It is a light unto the world. This collection of books includes translations, revelations, and other divine writings.

Tsohar includes:

  • The Book of Remembrance
  • The Book of Enoch
  • The Book of Abraham
  • The Book of Melchizedek (chapters 1-25)
  • The Book of the Law of the Lord
  • The Visions and Parables of Zenos
  • The Declarations of Neum
  • The Writings of Moroni
  • The Shulena

Like the Holy Bible and the Book of Mormon, Tsohar is not perfect and should not always be taken literally. Though Joseph Smith Jr. on at least one occasion declared the Book of Mormon to be the “most correct book,” no one ever declared it perfect. The book itself admits that it has flaws as it was compiled by men. Likewise, the books found here in the Tsohar are not perfect records. As the title page of the Book of Mormon states:

“And now, if there are faults they are the mistakes of men; wherefore, condemn not the things of God, that ye may be found spotless at the judgment-seat of Christ.”

We echo Moroni’s words, and encourage all to read this book prayerfully that the Spirit may speak to mankind through it, just as we would the Holy Bible and any other work of scripture.

Click here to download a free PDF.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments