“Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain; blessed are ye when men shall revile you, and persecute, and shall say all manner of evil against you falsely, for my sake, for ye shall have great joy and be exceeding glad, for great shall be your reward in heaven.” –Book of the Law of the Lord 1:2/3 Nephi 5:58 RAV, 12:11-12 OPV

The 10 Sefirot (Hebrew for “emanations”) are the 10 attributes of God in Kabbalah, through which Ein Sof (the Everlasting name of God) reveals Himself/Themselves to humankind. There are a few different ways of using the Sefirot. Some Kabbalists study and grow from attribute to attribute, while others see them as an urim and thummim. As an urim and thummim, the right and left sides create a series of “lenses” for the natural eyes, while the center creates a series of “lenses” for the third or spiritual eye. Through this urim and thummim, God helps us see both the physical realm and the chain of higher metaphysical realms.

In Mormon Kabbalah, we do both; using the Sefirot for growth and as seer stones. We grow from Sefirot to Sefirot in Christ’s grace, and seeing the world through spiritual eyes by the power of the Holy Ghost. Here we will give a quick over view of each Sefirot and how one may grow their perspective with each as we grow closer to God.

  • English: Knowledge
  • Body part: Left eye
  • Color: Yellow
  • Element: Air: knowledge, intelligence
  • Associated with: Abba/Avinu “Father” (God the Father)
  • Herald: Jehovah (YHVH), the premortal Son of God/Jesus Christ the Son of Man
  • Day of Creation: Before the creation. This is the knowledge, how to create, representing the divine masculine and helping us grow our determination to act upon and receive essential truths.

Da’at is the uppermost of the Sefirot of the Left line or kav smol (Hebrew for “left line”), the line severity in the Tree of Life. is associated memory and concentration, powers which rely upon one’s recognition. In the Zohar, Da’at is referred to as “the key that includes six.” This “key” opens all six attributes of the heart. Combining with Chokhmah (Hebrew for “wisdom”) creates Binah (Hebrew for “understanding”). Knowledge may be gained by all, and wisdom may be obtained as well. Only by combining the two, through Christ’s grace and the Holy Spirit can we see with our third eye and gain true understanding. With the knowledge of God, and the six attributes open, our kli spills God’s light into the invisible Sefirot, Binah (understanding) and into the world.

Da’at helps us then on two levels: the lower level (mundane) and the higher level, Da’at Elyon (Hebrew for “higher knowledge”) or Da’at hane’elam (Hebrew for “hidden knowledge”). The lower connects us to the intellect within the realm of emotion. This enhances one’s ability to act in accordance with the Law in truth and righteousness. The higher knowledge helps us on the mortal plain by giving us hidden knowledge from Keter, above Da’at on the Tree.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments